Volume 51   Number 4 Fall 2018

SCRA Member Spotlight

Edited by Dominique Thomas, University of Michigan

The SCRA Member Spotlight is a new way for us to engage our members and highlight great works! Each issue will we solicit submissions of accomplishments. We especially would like students, early career scholars, and practitioners to submit their accomplishments and work. Submission can include but are certainly not limited to:

  • New jobs
  • Post-docs
  • Promotions
  • Thesis/Dissertation Defenses
  • Newly published journal articles, books, chapters
  • Podcasts, blogs, news items that are by or about you
  • Certifications or other credentials
  • Retirement
  • Grants
  • Awards
  • Successful/ongoing projects
  • New projects of community initiatives

If you are interested in submitting for the next issue, please click this link and fill out the form. We hope to hear from you!

Deniza Alieva (Laboratorio de Redes Personales y Comunidades (LRPC), Universidad de Sevilla) defended her doctoral dissertation on the experiences of Russian tourists in Spain, under the supervision of Doctor Isidro Maya Jariego. In her research, Deniza Alieva examines intercultural experiences of tourists, combining social network analysis and community psychology.

Kyrah Brown (University of Texas at Arlington) After two years of working in practice as an evaluation consultant, she accepted an offer for a tenure-track Assistant Professor position at the University of Texas at Arlington. Kyrah will be joining the newly established public health program within the Department of Kinesiology.

Urmitapa Dutta (University of Massachusetts Lowell) was promoted (with tenure) to Associate Professor

Natalie Kivell (University of Miami) defended her dissertation entitled “Reframing the role of size in transformation: A Participatory Theory Development study with community organizers and activists.” Her research was funded through a 1st place award from the NSR SCRA Dissertation Grant, and the Alma H. Young Emerging Scholar Award from the Urban Affairs Association. Through the development of a new participatory theory development methodology, she and community organizers co-developed a theory of transformation to address structural injustices in our communities.

Gloria Levin was recently elected to the Board of Directors of the Glen Echo (Maryland) Fire Department. This fire and rescue department combines county government-paid career staffers and an impassioned group of volunteer EMTs and paramedics. She finds that community psychology skills are a vital addition to the (attorney-heavy) citizen Board. Contact Gloria ( if you have experience with fire and rescue departments.

Cathryn Richmond (Virginia Commonwealth University) was elected as a 2017-2018 VCU Ambassador for APA Campus Ambassador Program (CAP). She was elected to the following roles: Campus Representative, Society for the Psychology of Women (Division 35) and Communications Engagement Specialist Student Member-at-Large, Society for the Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity (Division 44). She was the recipient of the APA Division 45 Student Travel Grant, APA Division 44 Bisexual Issues Committee Student Travel Grant, and the APA Division 35 Section 4 Student Travel Grant

Melissa Strompolis (Children's Trust of South Carolina) started the South Carolina Adverse Childhood Experiences Initiative - secured/leveraged dollars for training (over 75 volunteers), data (population-level for 5 years; numerous publications), community-based action (funding and tools for local coalitions), and policy (interviews with policymakers).

Dominique Thomas (University of Michigan) started a new position as a Scholarship-to-Practice Fellow at the National Center for Institutional Diversity

Traci L Weinstein (Rhode Island College) started a brand new position as Assistant Professor of Community Psychology at RIC, the first such position at the college. The institution is committed to incorporating community psychology into their curriculum, programming, and academic life, with new experiences to link the college and the local community in Providence and surrounding areas. This represents an exciting new opportunity for growth in the field!

Susan M. Wolfe (Susan Wolfe and Associates, LLC) Ann Webb Price (Community Evaluation Solutions), and Jon Meyer (JLM Research) were recently selected as the evaluators for the Hogg Foundation’s three-year, $2-million Well-Being in Rural Communities Initiative. Grants were awarded to organizations serving Morris, Bastrop, Nacogdoches, Victoria, and Brooks Counties in Texas to create or build on an existing community collaborative. Grantees are required to demonstrate commitment to shared learning, involve historically excluded groups, and address the need for inclusive leadership that does not perpetuate existing inequities. Collaboratives are expected to use a population health approach to address conditions that contribute to mental health disparities. Each community will determine their own path toward mental health equity and community wellness. The team will work closely with the program coordinators, Sherrye Willis and staff at Alliance for Greater Works, and the Hogg Foundation staff.